Q & A with Preston Barclay, Premium Sales Intern for the New York Mets

mets

Preston Barclay spent the summer of 2013 as a Premium Sales intern with the New York Mets. He is from the Boston area and will graduate from Georgetown’s McDonough School of Business in 2014.

GSABR: Tell us about your internship with the New York Mets this summer?

PB: This summer I was fortunate enough to land a position within the Premium Sales division of the ticket sales department of the New York Mets. Before I get to some of the more glamorous aspects of working at the ballpark every day, I’ll give an overview of some of the responsibilities of the position. As a premium sales intern, I did a variety of simple every day tasks expected in any internship as well as undertaking several projects that combined some of the lessons I learned through my marketing and finance majors at Georgetown. On non-game days, I typically spent seven hours at the park with activities ranging from mailing tickets to clients and creating invoices and receipts when necessary. On game days, I was often at the stadium for close to twelve hours, but it was a great experience attending the games. As a premium sales intern, I personally assisted a specific sales representative in charge of suites, boxes, and other premium locations throughout the park, visiting clients before and during games at their locations. When idle during the day, I also completed several analytical projects designed to assist the division with their ticket prices and marketing of their packages. Aside from that, getting to attend games, stand on the field for batting practice, and attend all of the All-Star Game festivities was an experience I will never forget.

GSABR: How did you go about searching for an internship with a MLB team?

PB: While many of my peers with the Mets gained their positions through Teamwork Online, I followed the advice of Justin Horowitz – Georgetown alum and friend from the club baseball team (also featured on the GSABR blog) – and sent every front office letters seeking an opportunity to intern. Fortunately, I received a bunch of letters or emails back from several teams, but surprisingly, many teams either do not have any internship program at all or hold them exclusively for grad school students. Fortunately, however, the Mets got back to me with immediate interest and soon after interviewing over the phone, I was offered a spot. Although I had other opportunities in other industries, I ultimately chose the Mets to break into the business of my passion.

GSABR: What inspired you to start PB’s Fantasy Sports? What’s the concept, and has it been successful?

PB: In brief, PB’s Fantasy Sports is a website I started in high school that offers sports fans the most realistic fantasy sports experience possible. The baseball league features 30 teams, player salaries, trading, free agency, waivers, and minor league systems to provide participants a fun and fulfilling experience as a general manager of a professional baseball franchise. From experience in larger fantasy sports leagues that incorporate some of the more complex factors other than simply drafting, trading, and add/dropping, most tend to fold after the first or second year. Given that we recently completed our fourth season and have a positive outlook, I would consider it quite successful. Most importantly for those who have participated, including myself, I believe I have developed skills in understanding player value, evaluation, and balancing short and long-term goals that I otherwise would not have been able to do so without the platform. If you are interested in getting involved, we are always looking for members to add to our waiting list!

GSABR: Tell us about your experience writing about sports. Has it been a worthwhile endeavor for you?

PB: I love sports, and I love writing, so it was a natural fit. Writing is also therapeutic in the sense that it creates a platform to share one’s thoughts with a wider audience. Professionally, however, not only has my writing experience allowed me to have further talking points in interviews, but I have also developed and crafted skills that will be important for any job I may have in the future.

GSABR: What have you done to involve yourself in sports on campus here at Georgetown?

PB: When I first arrived at Georgetown, I immediately involved myself in extensions of activities I already participated in in high school, joining the club baseball team and The Hoya. Likewise, I joined an independent college website called Next Gen Journal after my freshman year that concluded before my junior year, writing about baseball and dabbling in other sports. Back at Georgetown with The Hoya, I initially wrote articles on a variety of sports, eventually becoming the beat writer for the Georgetown women’s basketball team before settling into my preferred role as a columnist, specifically writing about baseball. From spring semester freshman year to the end of junior year I wrote the column “Turning Two in the 202,” before transitioning solely to GSABR as of this fall. Also since sophomore year, I have served as an official within the intramural department, and have served as a supervisor since junior year (best job on campus, in my opinion).

GSABR: Is it true that your dream job is GM of a MLB team? What advice would you give to kids with lofty expectations in the sports world?

PB: Yes, it is true that my dream job, like so many others, is to become a General Manager of a MLB team. It’s important for anyone that shares the same dream to realize that there are only 30 such positions in the world, but by not shooting high, you will not have any chance to accomplish your ultimate goal. If you really want to work in sports, leverage the Georgetown brand and go for it. I wish a club like GSABR existed when I was younger and I could not encourage underclassmen enough to get involved and utilize the platform. Likewise, go to information sessions, introduce yourself to speakers, and get experience as soon as possible. You may not ultimately reach your end goal, but why not try? The journey is half the fun and even though you might make less money than your peers who enter the finance world, you will likely be enjoying your job much more, even if you do not reach the top. I cannot wait to see what’s next.

Image courtesy of Wikipedia

Special thanks to Preston Barclay for his time and insight

Interview by Benj Coen

Follow Preston on Twitter: @prestonb1291
Follow Benj on Twitter: @TheBenjchwarmer
Follow GSABR on Twitter: @GtownSports
Like GSABR on Facebook

Leave a Reply

